meretal

goals & gut feelings | sunday life

In sunday life on 10 April 2011 at 1:02 pm

Love the feeling of warm, lazy sundays. Love the thick, Florida air, and the incredible lull that hits you right around 2:00 PM.

Lovely lunch with friends reminds me that there is so much to let into your life – on Sundays, you’re finally at peace with the way that your life will go, and you let it sink in that whatever you decide is where you’ll end up, and you’ll be just fine wherever you end up.

I’ve been consumed with goals lately – short term and life term; so Sarah Wilson’s post about how to set “goals” has me redefining what I want in my future. The things I want? Here they are:

Activity. I like being busy, I like movement. I know that I’m going to have a busy future, because busy’s what I do best. When I reflect back on my life, it will be for pausing between places I need to be, realizing that this is what I wanted after all.

Warmth. I’m absolutely spoiled to a life in the sun – but it’s the feeling I love. Getting into a sweltering warm car and feeling the thick air dissipate; walking out of an air-conditioned building and feeling your nose defrost (tingle!); meeting a day that’s too bright to see. The sun lifts up my mood – lifts up my life!

Dependency. I am nothing except the product of the fabulous people I’m surrounded by. While I consider time to myself absolutely sacred, absolutely necessary, I am the complete product of my family and friends, and there’s no way I could survive without.

So that’s my life! I don’t know what that is, really, but you move towards what you feel, towards gut feelings, so if I’m able to manage that I’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

